‘Shroom’ Toscars parody

Have you ever been invited to a mushroom-party ? Watch this year’s Toscars parody of “Room“, called “Shroom” with Craig R. Young, Nadia Wit, Ewan Chung & Eileen Lee.

Craig Robert Young @ Shroom parody The Toscars 24.02.2016 (36)



Toscars 2016 winners

Here is the winners’ list from this year’s edition :

Craig Robert Young @ The Toscars by Danny Go 24.02.2016 (13)

Best Parody Film – “Mad Mex : Churro Road” (Kim Morgan Greene & Ewan Chung)
Best Whactress (actress) – Kim Morgan Greene – “Mad Mex”
Best Whactor (actor) – Harry Van Gorvan – The Short (short)
Best Dicktator (director) – Marc Cleary – “Mad Mex”
Best Looking (DP) – Jimmy Page – “Mad Mex”
Best Cutter (editor) – Adam Wood – “Mad Mex”
Best Tunes (score) – Jonathan Mille – “Mad Mex”
Best scribblers (writters) – Martin Lee White & Serena Lorien for The Short (short)
Best supporting Whactress (supporting actress) – Salme Geransar – The Short (short)
Best supporting Whactor (supporting actor) – Wyatt Bunce – The Short (short)

Toscars teams on the way !

Right after the Oscar nominations, The Toscars teams have just been selected, next step is now on with the writing…

The Toscars, now in its 9th year, are a group of comedians, writers, directors and producers who create 5-mn parody films of the nominated films for best picture at that sound-a-like award show ! Teams have 3 weeks to write, direct, cast, shoot, edit and score their masterpieces. This year’s show will be MC’d by Emmy award winner Jai Rodriguez from Queer Eye For The straight Guy.

The 8 teams of up to 10 members will be judged by the newly formed Whacademy, made up of 40 former winners and participants of years past, in 10 categories including Best Whacting (acting), Best Cutter (editor), Best Tunes (score), Best Looking (DP), and others.

The night will start with a red carpet and cocktail reception in the courtyard of the Renberg Theatre in West Hollywood, followed by the screening of the 8 films which will segue straight into the awards (full list of presenters to be announced soon).

Afterwards, the winners will be celebrated with a dessert reception. One thing that is guaranteed – a lot of fun will be had.

Toscars rules: teams of a maximum of 10 people are given $250 to create their parody film. The films can be no longer than 5 mn, and the title must be different from the original.

The Toscars are coming !

The Toscars are coming in 2 days, this year’s motto will be “We all Cream in Gold” !
8 films will vie for the coveted “Golden Fists” in 10 categories.

The Toscars 2016

Celebrity presenters for this year :

From “General Hospital” and “Devious Maids” : Brianna Brown
“Blacksails” actor Hakeem Kae-Kazim
From NetFlix “Peaky Blinders” : Matthew & Jeffrey Posthlwaite
From “Holby City” and The CW’s “Arrow” : Jimmy Akingbola
The movie business’ : Hayley King & Nicole Fries
Hollywood talent Agents : Louisa Springs & Tom Markley
Famed Marilyn Monroe Impersonator : Holly Beavan
Superhero franchise screenwriter : Jake Thornton
ITV’s This Morning presenter : Tamzin Eames
Producer of the Academy Award Nominee for best short film “Stutterer” : Sean Christopher Ogilvie

Meet everyone on Wednesday, February 24, 2016 from 6:00 PM to 11:00 PM at the Renberg Theatre – 1125 North McCadden Place, Los Angeles, CA 90028.
The party will start at 6.00 pm wih a pre cocktail reception in the courtyard with red carpet interviews.
7.00 pm : screening and Awards show and 9.30 pm : afterparty back in the courtyard.

Only a few tickets left HERE.

2015 Spirit of the Toscars winners

… And 3 Golden Fists go to…Craig for “Big Birdman” !

Craig Robert Young @ The Toscars by Walter Tabayoyong 17.02.2015 (15)


Here is the full list of winners :

Best Whactress – Dickie Sanderson – With-Lash

Best Whactor – Scott Kaske – Big BirdMan

Best Supporting Whactor – Craig Robert Young – Big BirdMan

Best Supporting Whactress – Lisa Marie Long -BoyWood

Best Dick (Director) Guy Ross – Big BirdMan

Best Tunes (Score) – Kyle Robertson – Immigration Game

Best Cutter (Editing) – Bryan Bowen – American Snapper

Best Scribbler (Screenplay) – Big BirdMan – Martin Lee White, Craig Robert Young & Guy Ross

Best Shooter (Cinematographer) – Reid Russell – Big BirdMan

Best Film – Big BirdMan – Produced by Craig Robert Young and Claire Spence 

This year the films were judged by Chesney Hawkes, Karen David, Sam Pancake and Drew Droege. See you next year for more parodies !

Spirit of The Toscars 2015 event

This year’s event will be hosted by Sandro Monetti at the “Here Lounge” in West Hollywood.

The Spirit of The Toscars 2015 (1)
The 5 minutes parodies of this year are :

– American Sniper
– Birdman
– Boyhood
– The Grand Budapest Hotel
– The Imitation Game
– Selma
– The Theory of Everything
– Whiplash
– Into the Woods

Red Carpet at 6:30 pm and screening starts at 8.00 pm.

The Brits in LA event will be back in full force next year. Until then, let’s keep the spirit alive and see who will be getting Golden Fisted this year. Here come the best of “your inner parody”.